chaotic keyboard

Just stuff I wrote

Born in the wrong decade

14 Comments

The Daily Post: Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen

Do you belong in this day and age? Do you feel comfortable being a citizen of the 21st-century? If you do, explain why — and if you don’t, when in human history would you rather be?

I absolutely, well and truly, undeniably, do not belong in this time.

My beloved Aunty Joan once told me that I was born eighty years old. You would have to know how my family works and how I work to get that that wasn’t an insult (alright, it wasn’t totally an insult). If you knew me, you’d probably also get what she meant. I am, at least on some level, an emotional Benjamin Button.

Let’s do the maths on that one. I was born in 1989, after what my mother will assure you was the longest, most stop-start labour in the history of humankind. If I was eighty in 1989, then I was born in 1909, and supposing that a woman is at her cultural, social and fashionable prime in her twenties to forties, then I was born to peak in the 1920s to 1940s and I think that is absolutely right. Because I would die of happiness if I got to look like this every day (I do own a hat like the one in this picture which is not mine).

Unfortunately, that would have meant I would have had to live through the two World Wars and the Great Depression, and I am much too prissy to ration my stockings or my bacon. I’d also be dead by now, well, probably. Especially since, as mentioned above, I would have died of happiness every time I opened my wardrobe.

So my next preference is to have been born in the 1960s, so that I could have fully enjoyed the music and fashion of the 1980s. Look, 80s culture; it’s a love-it-or-hate-it kinda thing and I love it. I’m not ashamed. This is a photo of me when I was twenty, all dressed up for an 80s-themed costume party (which were all the rage in the late noughties, apparently):

5100_111142892145_7533228_n

I still own that jumper. I wore it yesterday. And the day before that.

I think having been born in the 1960s would have suited some of the attitudes I have now. It would definitely match some of my behaviour. For example, like a fifty-something year-old, I often fall asleep in the middle of a television show, walk into a room and promptly forget what I went in there for, or go on a frantic search for an object that is in my hand. I also find myself bemoaning the attitudes and sometimes even the music and fashions of the rest of my generation, and I have caught myself saying things such as “when I was younger…” or “I remember when you were a baby! I changed your nappies!” (the perks of being a babysitter).

Also, these photos would never have happened:

162976_1272043257668_3250312_n 163932_1272041457623_1150038_n

So basically anything other than that would have been better, right?

And if you’re not convinced about how gorgeous I would have looked in the threads of the early twentieth century, or you haven’t seen enough of my embarrassing childhood photos, here is one of me (centre) acting in a play, when I was about seven:

162681_1272043137665_7306965_n

14 thoughts on “Born in the wrong decade

  1. Pingback: 21st Century Citizen | Nanuschka's Blog

  2. Pingback: I Could Be King And Drive a ‘49 Packard | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: This is my age | Vivir, que no es poco

  4. Pingback: DRUNKEN SPIRITS | hastywords

  5. Pingback: Party with the Gatsby | Thriving Pessimist...

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | writinglikeastoner

  7. What an enjoyable romp through your response to this prompt. Thanks!

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Citizen of Today | My Daily Prompt Blog

  9. I love 80s fashion too save leg warmers.

Leave a Reply

